Storytelling Workshop by Adam Wong

Date & Time:8 – 9 / 3 / 2014  11:00am – 05:00pm

Venue:Eric Hotung Studio, Hong Kong Arts Centre

Conducted in Cantonese

How should we tell a story in a film? Narrative can be linear, cyclical, spiral, fragmented… you name it. Adam Wong who directed The Way We Dance will conduct the workshop with a small group of participants, scrutinize their works, and give them tips about how to play around with storytelling!

 

Instructor

Adam Wong Sau Ping

Adam Wong studied at Ying Wa College for his secondary school. While he was studying Fine Arts at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, he travelled as an exchange student to the University of Iowa, USA, and made use of the courses and facilities there to start making short films. His shorts Fish (97), Ah Wai & Murphy (99) and Glowing (00) were awarded at ifva. After the 311 tsunami in Japan in 2011, he created with his partner the disaster-relief short film Friends which was screened at the Osaka Asian Film Festival on the one-year anniversary of 311. In 2012, adapting a true story of a barista girl, Adam wrote and directed the short film Secret Taste. Adam is also a lecturer of the creative media courses at the School of Design, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and the Lee Shau Kee School of Creativity.

In the summer of 2013, his movie The Way We Dance was released and has become a big hit in Hong Kong. Having been screened for 12 weeks, it was very well received both in critics and box office. In the same year, he was invited to be the voice-actor for the protagonist Jiro Horikoshi of Hayao Miyazaki’s animation The Wind Rises. He is now in preparation for his next feature Root of Love and has planned to make the sequel of The Way We Dance. 


Top

工作坊:黃修平教你講故仔

日期及時間:8 – 9 / 3 / 2014  11:00am – 05:00pm

場地:香港藝術中心何鴻章排練室

粵語主講

電影的故事應該怎麼講?是脫胎自文學起承轉合的傳統敘事?抑或像某些實驗電影以反線性敘事為美?直線的、曲線的、跳躍的、零碎的,你的電影是那一路的敘事方式?講故仔工作坊以小班制進行,請來《狂舞派》導演黃修平親自審理每位學員帶來的劇本或錄像創作,即場過你幾招,玩轉電影的敘事的種種可能!

工作坊包括《狂舞派》背後創作藍圖的絕密公開。讓同學們看看從資料搜集到劇本創作到排戲到攝製過程之中,「講故事之魂」如何一直發揮著領航作用。同時,黃修平亦將兩年前帶著《狂舞派》企劃出征「台灣金馬創投會議」的「sell橋戰」 (最終成功取得投資的關鍵性一役),在工作坊中重演一次。

 

導師
黃修平
中學畢業於英華書院,就讀中文大學藝術系期間到美國愛荷華大學作交換生,並盡用該校的課堂和器材開始創作短片。多齣短片均在 ifva中獲獎。2011年日本311海嘯後,他與拍檔製作了賑災短片《朋友》,並在海嘯一週年在大阪亞洲電影節作特別放映。2012年根據真人真事創作了短片《花椒 八角 咖啡豆》。他亦在香港理工大學設計系任教媒體創作課程。
2013年完成跳舞電影《狂舞派》,獲邀多國影展放映並於日本福岡國際電影節奪「觀眾大獎」以及提名金馬獎最佳女主角及最佳動作設計。亦獲香港電影評論學會選為年度六齣推薦香港電影之一,及亞洲周刊選為2013年十大中文電影之一。同年為宮崎駿作品《風起了》的粵語版聲演主角堀越二郎。
現正籌備長片《愛的根源》,並計劃開拍《狂舞派》續篇《狂舞派III》。 

Top