Past Award Winning Titles — The 19th ifva Awards

Open Category
Gold Award

Beautiful Life 
Chan Ho-lun Fredie / 25′ 30” / In Cantonese and English with Chinese and English subtitles

Yayang, an Indonesian girl who works in Hong Kong, dreams to improve her life back home someday. Employed by a grassroots family, Yayang receives salary that is less than the minimum allowable wage. Despite the fact that she is underpaid, close bonding is developed between Yayang and the family. This puts Yayang in the dilemma of staying or quitting…


Silver Award

Yeung Yeung with Cows
Wong Cheuk-man, Law Wan-i, Law Hoi-ki, Leung Wing-sze, Tang Ka-hei
/ 24′ 49" / In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

Yeung Yeung has been living with more than a hundred stray cows for years, and faces many problems, such as the supply of cow feed, the lack of grazing ground, stolen cows, medical problems, etc. Moreover, the documentary records her hopes and regrets in life.  


Special Mention

The Echoes of Circles
Lam Kin-hung Joel
/ 29′ 00" / In Japanese, Korean and Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

The Echoes of Circles tells the story of three people who receive strange text messages, and the three react to the messages in different ways. The images and the story interact with each other to form interesting collusions and associations. The Echoes of Circles attempts to transcend the conventions of narrative and non-narrative films, and plays with the mutual influence between images, language and text.


Invisible Rock
Chen King-yuen
/ 23′ 14" / In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

Jacky, a film student, is working on his script and he tries to fuse his life experience into this creative work. A number of people show up in this journey, his long-lost and estranged mother Jade, a city-wandering lesbian Josephine and a self-embracing gay Joseph. While Jacky attempts to disentangle his complicated relationships with them, he comes to realise his dream, his memory and even his life has always been revolving around them. Sometimes they clash, sometimes they drift apart.


Youth Category
Gold Award

I am not a Superhero
Jonathan Tam
/ 21′ 00" / In Cantonese and English with Chinese and English subtitles

A story about a teenage superhero’s life in Hong Kong.


Silver Award

Yao Dao Police Call 
Wong Chun-pong
/ 14′ 58" / In Cantonese with no subtitles

This work centres on bullying in school, and gives detailed suggestions on how to solve such problems. The fight scenes are very realistic, and very close to real life bullying. These scenes are very captivating, but more importantly, the film teaches people that there are serious consequences to bullying.


Special Mention

Kidnap
Mok Chui-shan, Yip Tsz-ching, Kiang Tin-long, Lee Suet-ying, Yip Yuen-ting, Wong Ka-chun
/ 7′ 55" / In Cantonese with Chinese subtitles

In a dark and stormy night, a man suddenly finds himself tied up and kidnapped. He passes out, and when he comes round, he finds himself facing several burly men, who alternately threatens and tries to entice him into revealing his secrets. But can the man resist in the end?


Animation Category
Gold Award

Tale of Rebellious Stone 
Ng Kai-chung, Ng Tsz-ching
/ 13′ 21" / No dialogue and subtitles

A stone, with its unflawed surface, was carved and polished by beliefs and rules. Yet the core is raw. The more eager you try to smoothen it, the more eager it indulges itself. Its untamed nature is no longer to be restrained.


Silver Award

Hong Kong Station
Wong Wai-ho, Oscar Sheikh
/ 3′ 00" / No dialogue and subtitles

This work is set with the Hong Kong MTR as background, from the late 1970s when the subway was first built to now. Through all the things that had happened on every level of the subway, the state of society from each period is brought forth. The end of the short clip brings a little bit of joy to dreary, humdrum everyday life with a lightning-fast dance performance. 


Special Mention

YETI
Joe Kwun
/ 3′ 00" / No dialogue and subtitles

Once, while heading up a mountain to collect some medicinal herbs, a trembling puppy climbed on the back of the main character YETI. YETI reluctantly brought the puppy up the mountain, but on the way he noticed that the puppy climbed on his back simply to gain warmth. YETI put the puppy back on his back, realising a small action can turn into a great gift. From then on, YETI never criticised the external world and learned to care about others.


Blind Vision
Leecat Ho
/ 3′ 28" / In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

This is a story about blind people. We have all met blind people before, but have we ever thought about how they live their lives? How do they perceive the world? How far can they go amid the darkness? Through the camera angle of animation, the audience can experience the blind’s perspective of vision – screen by screen, the images of the eye within’ of the blind are presented in this animation.


Interactive Media Category
Gold Award

The Mechanics of Shadows, Selva Days
Cedric Maridet

The Mechanics of Shadows, Selva Days simulates a real time artificial ecosystem controlling four robotised turntables with recordings from the Brazilian rainforest and projections of shadows of the mechanism from each machine. The composition of sounds and of movements of these turntables are controlled in real-time by a computer system based on the Lotka-Volterra equations that models the dynamics of population growth according to the prey or predator systems in which several species interact. Each turntable represents an animal species and behaves according to three different modes mapped from the equations: the tone arm either stands still, moves freely, or plays the record to create an immersive audiovisual experience.


Silver Award

Integrated Branching City
Fung Wing-lam, Ngai Po-yiu, Kwok Wan-ting, Choi Ka-man

Integrated Branching City is an installation that engages differences between viewers who may have different sensations of living in the city. In our research, we particularly referred urban disease patient’s electroencephalography (EEG) to symbolise our interpretation on the social disparting condition. The interactive space functions to use viewers’ EEG data to interrupt undesirable situations and reconstruct with empathy.


Special Mention

Iris
Cheuk Sze-wing Chloe, Wong Chi-chuen Kenny

Iris is responsive to the audience’s hand gestures when they put their hands inside a designated device. Their hands are then projected and detected by a sensor. After the gestures are scrutinised, Iris will respond according to an array of rules that audience may explore through communication. Since the installation will keep learning the input gestures, the video database of different combinations of movements will expand persistently and act more dynamically.


Asian New Force Category
Gold Award

Butter Lamp
Hu Wei / China / 15′ 00" / In Tibetain with English subtitles

A young itinerant photographer and his assistant suggest to Tibetan nomads to take their family pictures against diverse and more or less exotic backgrounds. Through these shots, the photographer will weave unique links with each of the various villagers.


Silver Award

Dreams in the Depths
Armin Isarian
/ Iran / 12′ 18" / In Persian with English subtitles

In June 2007, the tall walls were made around the borders of Gaza Strip, therefore the people of this region were surrounded by the sea and impenetrable walls. A young boy and his father in a tunnel under the border walls between Gaza strip and Egypt are waiting to bargain their goods with the people from another side of the walls. The boy wants to have a bicycle and his father tries to make excuses because of their circumstances.


Special Mention

The Poet and Singer
Bi Gan
/ China / 22′ 00" / In Guizhou dialect with Chinese and English subtitles

Chen Sheng and Bad Bean come to the river to wait for Hua Heshang. There, they see a wooden stake engraved with The Diamond Sutra. Chen Sheng guesses that when the wind blows, all sins will be redeemed.


The Questioning
Zhu Rikun
/ China / 20′ 30" / In Putonghua with English subtitles

On 24 July 2012, I drove to Xinyu, Jiangxi Province to cheer human rights activist Liu Ping and two other local independent candidates. They have been oppressed by the government and the police for taking part in the election and other human rights protection events. Before, there were some other people beaten by the police when they went there to cheer and support the candidates. While doing these things, we found ourselves tailed. At 12 o’clock at night, some policemen came to our room and started the so-called ‘room inspection’.


Archive Video: The 19th ifva Award Presentation Ceremony


Top

歷屆得獎名單 — 第十九屆 ifva 比賽

公開組
金獎

美好生活
陳浩倫 / 25′ 30" / 粵語及英語對白,中英文字幕

印尼少女Yayang 從農村來港打工,夢想有天可回鄉安居樂業, 怎料受聘於生活朝不保夕的基層家庭,薪金更低於最低工資。Yayang 擔當照顧幼女的重要角色,跟僱主一家漸漸建立感情。可是在港的生活比她當初想像的困難,雙方談起續約去留時互相拉扯,令Yayang 對美好生活的憧憬頓時落入在情感與現實兩難中。


銀獎

牽牛花
黃勺嫚、羅韻貽、羅凱麒、梁穎思、鄧家熙 / 24′ 49" / 粵語對白,中英文字幕

洋洋多年來與一百多隻流浪牛一起生活和居住,一直面對著各種問題,如糧草供應、沒有地方放牧、流浪牛被偷、病牛的醫療問題等等⋯⋯更多的是她對生活的期望以及遺憾。


特別表揚

圓隅之嚀
林健雄 / 29′ 00" / 日語、韓語及粵語對白,中英文字幕

《圓隅之嚀》講述三位人物各收到奇怪的訊息,這些人物對這些訊息有著不同的反思,又與故事畫面各自產生不同的磨合與聯想。《圓隅之嚀》嘗試突破劇情與非劇情故事慣常的敘事模式, 實驗了影像、語言、文字在電影中相互影響的可能性及功能。


Invisible Rock
陳敬元 / 23′ 14" / 粵語對白,中英文字幕

電影學生 Jacky 編寫劇本時,試圖把自己的生活經驗放進創作之中 。在他的創作旅程中出現多個人物,包括與他變得生疏的母親 Jade,遊走都市的女同志 Josephine 和一名擁抱自我的男同志 Joseph。當 Jacky 試著把這一切的種種關係弄清楚時,他漸漸發覺他的夢境,他的回憶,以至他的人生都在這些人中打轉, 有時結合,有時分開。


青少年組
金獎

I am not a Superhero
譚仲明 / 21′ 00" / 粵語及英語對白,中英文字幕

少年「超級英雄」在香港的故事。


銀獎

耀道警訊
黃峻邦 / 14′ 58" / 粵語對白,無字幕

這個節目針對校園欺凌事件,並詳細地介紹其解決方法。當中的打鬥場面十分逼真,有著真實欺凌的感覺,演來入木三分,希望令同學明白欺凌別人有重大後果。


特別表揚

綁架
莫翠珊、葉子澄、姜天朗、李雪瑩、葉婉婷、黃家俊 / 7′ 55" / 粵語對白,中文字幕

一個風雨交加的晚上,一名男子突然被綁架了。當他醒來時,他面對幾名大漢,不斷對他威迫利誘,意圖要他屈服,他最後能否堅持下去?


動畫組
金獎

逆石譚
吳啓忠、吳子睛 / 13′ 21" / 無對白及字幕

一顆石頭,
被信仰規條琢磨。
表面磨得無瑕,
本質卻磨平不到。
愈費心撫平,
愈想放縱性情。
本性頑逆的石頭,

已漸漸按捺不住……


銀獎

香港站
黃偉浩、識家希 / 3′ 00" / 無對白及字幕

這部短片用了香港地鐵作為背景,由七十年代尾地下鐵路初建成到現在,透過每層地鐵站裡面所發生的事,帶出每個時代的社會狀況。而短片末段,我們用了快閃跳舞活動來帶給沉悶刻板的生活一點歡樂。 


特別表揚

YETI
管國成
/ 3′ 00" / 無對白及字幕

一次上山採集藥草,一隻震顫的小狗爬上主角YETI 身上。YETI 勉強帶小狗上山,而途中卻發現小狗爬上自己身上是為了取暖。YETI 把小狗放回身上後,體會到原來一個小行動可以是很大的禮物。從此YETI 不再排斥外界,也學懂了關愛別人。


黑暗中的光景
何海藍 / 3′ 28" / 粵語對白,中英文字幕

這是一個關於失明人的故事。我們都有遇見過失明人,但你有否想像過他們是怎樣過生活的?他們是如何感知這個世界?在一片黑暗中他們可走多遠的路?透過動畫中鏡頭,觀眾可以體驗到一個失明人的視野—一幕幕失明人「眼中的畫面」將由動畫呈現出來。


互動媒體組
金獎

The Mechanics of Shadows, Selva Days
Cedric Maridet

《The Mechanics of Shadows, Selva Days》模擬了一個實時的人工生態系統,控制四個自動化及播放著巴西的熱帶雨林聲音的唱盤,每一台機器均可投射陰影。唱盤的聲音與動作均由以 Lotka-Volterra 提出的掠食者或獵物系統為藍本的電腦程式控制。每個轉盤代表一種物種,並根據方程式提出的三種不同的模式來活動:唱臂可以靜止、自由移動或播放來創建像真的視聽體驗。


銀獎

融和,衍生與城市
馮穎琳、倪寶瑤、郭韻渟、蔡嘉雯

《融和,衍生與城市》是一件裝置作品,整合觀眾居於城市之間存在不同感受的差異。在我們的研究中,我們特別參考了都市病病人的腦電圖(EEG),象徵我們對社會分離的解讀。透過互動空間,利用觀眾的腦電圖數據來中斷不愉快的情況,並以同理心來重組。


特別表揚

Iris
卓思穎、黃智銓

當觀眾將手放進指定裝置內,《Iris》便會作出回應。他們的手會被投影,及通過感應器偵測。手勢會被《Iris》分析及作出不同反應,讓觀眾漸漸發掘一系列特定的規律。由於裝置會不斷學習新的手勢,動作的視頻數據庫將持續擴大和衍生更多不同可能的回應。


亞洲新力量組
金獎

酥油燈
胡偉
/ 中國 / 15′ 00" / 藏語對白,英文字幕

一位行走江湖的攝影師,使用不同的背景拍攝西藏遊牧民族。不同的家庭站在具異國情調的背景前拍攝,通過不同的照片,攝影師與每一名被拍攝的村民建立獨特的關係。


銀獎 

Dreams in the Depths
Armin Isarian
/ 伊朗 / 12′ 18" / 波斯語對白,英文字幕

2007 年 6 月,加沙地帶築起了圍牆,數以千計的加沙居民被大海及高牆隔絕了。一名男孩與父親在加沙與埃及邊境的地道下等候來做買賣的人。男孩想要一輛單車,但父親因為他們生活的境況不好,找藉口不買單車。


特別表揚

金剛經
畢贛
/ 中國 / 22′ 00" / 貴州語對白,中英文字幕

陳昇和老歪來到約好的插著木樁的河邊等「花和尚」,木樁上刻著《金剛經》。陳昇猜想風吹過的時候,四周將得到超度。


查房
朱日坤 / 中國 / 20′ 30" / 普通話對白,英文字幕

2012 年 7 月 24 日,我到江西新余市聲援維權人士劉萍和另外兩個獨立參選人。他們因為參與選舉以及其他維權活動,被公安拘留。在此之前,已有人因為支持參選人而被公安毆打。我們到達當地後發現被跟蹤,當晚午夜十二時,一些公安進來我們的酒店房間作所謂的「查房」。


第十九屆 ifva 比賽頒獎典禮精彩重溫


Top