Past Award Winning Titles — The 14th ifva Awards

Open Category

Gold Award

Three Boys / LEUNG Ming-kai / 16mm / 19’ 33”

Silver Award

Let’s Take a Shower / YU Chung-yee / DV / 19’

Special Mention

The Story of Sun / LONG Fei / HD / 24’23”

 

Youth Category

Gold Award

Life Must Go On / SHAM Ka-ki / DV / 19’ 30”

My Rose / TANG Lok-to / DV / 3’ 19”

Special Mention

The Empty Body / WONG Sze-ming / DV / 3’19”

Let You Know / KWONG Kai-tung, WONG Hiu-kwan / DV / 21’ 09”

Without Title / Toson CHAN / DV / 4’ 28”

 

Animation Category

Gold Award

Such is Life / WONG Lai-ming Emily / 16’ 12”

Silver Award

Yim / CHUI Chun-yu, CHAN Wai-yee / 4’ 26”

Special Mention

All Around Me / YEUNG Hey-chiu /5’ 16”

My Mother is an Alien / YEUNG Sin-ling, LAU Sze-kit / 5’ 44”

 

Interactive Media Category

Gold Award

Stolen Time for Sale / FONG Sum-yu

Silver Award

Textworm / CHEUNG Chi-lung Ashley, LAM Chi-fai Jason

Special Mention

Black Box / CHAN Wai-yu, KWOK Yu-ho

The Happiness of the Fish / CHEUNG Hon-him

Leaf, Living Digit / LAU Ming-tat Lawrence

 

Asian New Force Category

Grand Prize

4 Kilometers / Shapiro MIRI / Digital Betacam / 22’ 30”

Special Mention

Fading / SHEN Ko-shang / DV / 15’

The Soliloquist / MA Kuang-pei / 35mm /6’ 05”

 

 

 

Three Boys / LEUNG Ming-kai / 16mm / 19’ 33”

An up-and-coming rock band in Manila has three members. The sudden departure of the lead singer brings an end to their musical careers; his sudden death brings the surviving members back together.

Let’s Take a Shower / YU Chung-yee / DV / 19’

Leprosy is a well-documented disease which can be found mainly in developing countries. The patients were relocated to stay in leprosy villages for quarantine and rehabilitation. However, they have to stay in the village even after recovery due to the social stigma against the visible deformities. This is a story about lepers’ children living in a leprosy colony where they cannot go to normal schools because of discrimination. Hundreds of children of the lepers enjoy studying in the only elementary school. However they are not yet to know that a potential blow to their school life is coming.

The Story of Sun / LONG Fei / HD / 24’23”

Originally from China, he comes to Hong Kong alone for school. His mother squeezes a day out to visit him but he seems bothered by the pop in. He intends to show his mother around Hong Kong but she accidentally finds out he has been suspended from school. He does not even have a roof over his head…

Life Must Go On / SHAM Ka-ki / DV / 19’ 30”

I’m soon to be 18. What am I doing? My life is the same every day, and I see the same people and do similar things. Why am I so ordinary? No matter what, life must go on.

My Rose / TANG Lok-to / DV / 3’ 19”

This short was made for the school’s Creative Week. It reflects my deep understanding of gay men, and expresses their innermost struggles and conflicts.

The Empty Body / WONG Sze-ming / DV / 3’19”

In my school days, the feeling of being chained up in life evokes discomfort. My school uniform is the embodiment of pressure, leaving me breathless. The uniform can confine my body, but not my soul.

Let You Know / KWONG Kai-tung, WONG Hiu-kwan / DV / 21’ 09”

Will is a teenager who has been relocated to the suburbs from the city. There he meets Yeuk-ching, a girl rejected by neighbours and students. Since Yeuk-ching is often confined in her own world and has little communication with others, Will’s existence has brought colour and joy into her secluded world. Their relationship sails smoothly until a bike accident that mars the perfect picture.

Without Title / Toson CHAN / DV / 4’ 28”

I DO NOT WANT to introduce any part of this video. Please FEEL IT YOURSELVES! Hope you will enjoy it.

Such is Life / WONG Lai-ming Emily / 16’ 12”

“Angry” is a little muddy figure created, out of the alien and larger-than his-life’s world, he feels lonely and angry all the time. But one day he encounters with “Love”, who changes his entire muddy life.

Yim / CHUI Chun-yu, CHAN Wai-yee / 4’ 26” 

The head of a reconstruction project falls into another realm while repossessing a tea restaurant. In this submerged city, anachronistic objects that bear the vestige of local culture and traces of historic past come into sight. After a massive destruction, the man is touched by his recollection and he awakes. He returns to reality with seeds of hope and attempts to preserve the relics, just to find out that he is unable to put a halt to the raging reconstruction plan.

All Around Me / YEUNG Hey-chiu / 5’ 16”

This is a short story that describes interpersonal relationships, and explores the connections between people and objects.

My Mother is an Alien / YEUNG Sin-ling, LAU Sze-kit / 5’ 44” 

A local animation, featuring a magical mother, takes you back in time, bringing tears and laughter.

Stolen Time for Sale / FONG Sum-yu

The performer steals time from strangers through pressing the button of elevators. The stolen times are recorded as video and are being exhibited in a gallery. Visitors could purchase and take away these times, which are extracted into CDs with money from the performer. According to the duration, number of people involved, their approximate age, appearance and response, prices for stolen times are different. The video sequences once sold are replaced by “SOLD — XX SECONDS FOR $XXX”, and are being shown together with the unsold ones.

Textworm / CHEUNG Chi-lung Ashley, LAM Chi-fai Jason

Textworm is an interactive installation which experiments on deconstruction of text. Game Play

(1) Type in: Players type words in keyboard and they will be projected onto the canvas.

(2) Cut: They can split the words by pointing laser pen on the projection screen.

(3) Auto Combine: The dissected parts will float and combine into new symbols.

Black Box / CHAN Wai-yu, KWOK Yu-ho

This is a sealed-off communicative installation.

The Happiness of the Fish / CHEUNG Hon-him

Through the conversation between Zhuangzi and Huizi in the story ofThe Happiness of the Fish, somehow we always project our views on others. This is our way of subjective thinking. This time, let the objective view of a fish lead us in the installation. See how we think of their creation.

Leaf, Living Digit / LAU Ming-tat Lawrence

Leaf, Living Digit consists of 3 transparent containers which provide a channel to access digital information. The square table-top surface is used as a projection screen where a sequence of Chinese characters “木” (means wood) are projected and turning orderly but, dully. Users can energise these “woods” by placing “real LIVING plants” into the containers. The “woods” are awakened and performs differently, shift, scale and rotate, according to the combination of which container having the plant. In this work, living things are used as medium to give life to digital world.

4 Kilometers / Shapiro MIRI / Digital Betacam / 22’ 30”

Somewhere between the 1947 traditional Bedouin desert-life of southern Israel and the 2007 modern city life of Beer-Sheba, just 4 Kilometers off the highway, lives a small Bedouin community. 15 years old Hulud has a dream; she is cracking the barrier set on that highway. With her young brother and sister she goes on a journey that will enable her to let go of the life she once wished for.

Fading / SHEN Ko-shang / DV / 15’

Shuinan Airport was also called Taichung Airport. In 1949, when the Kuomintang came to Taiwan, it built ten villages near the airport to house tens of thousands of airforce personnel and their families, and the area had the highest population density among such villages. In 2004, Shuinan Airport was officially closed after 68 years of operation. The restructuring plans involved the evacuation of the villages, and many people had to leave what had been their homes for over 50 years. Village life became a distant memory for many of these military families and their descendents.

The Soliloquist / MA Kuang-pei / 35mm /6’ 05”

“Loneliness, when I feel your existence, I do not want to be part of this world.” This is an urban fable interspersed with loneliness, inter-personal relationships, emotions, delusions and hallucinations.


Top

歷屆得獎名單 — 第十四屆 ifva 比賽

公開組

金獎
《Three Boys》/ 梁銘佳 / 16mm / 19’ 33”

銀獎
《洗澡吧》/ 余仲怡 / DV / 19’

特別表揚
《二子的故事》/ 龍飛 / HD / 24’ 23”

 

青少年組

金獎
《活在當下》/ 岑珈其 / DV / 19’ 30”
《薔薇》/ 鄧樂滔 / DV / 3’ 19”

特別表揚
《軀殼》/ 黃詩明 / DV / 3’ 19”
《愛.讓你知道》/ 鄺啟東、王曉君 / DV / 21’ 09”
《無題》/ 陳柏羲 / DV / 4’ 28

 

動畫組

金獎
《泥人生》/ 黃麗明 / 16’ 12”

銀獎
《淹》/ 徐振宇、陳瑋怡 / 4’ 26”

特別表揚
《絆》/ 楊起超/ 5’16”
《我阿媽係外星人》/ 楊倩玲、劉斯傑 / 5’ 44”

 

互動媒體組

金獎
《販賣偷來的時間》/ 方琛宇

銀獎
《解.構》/ 張智龍、林志輝

特別表揚
《黑色盒子》/ 陳威宇、郭譽豪
《子非魚/ 弍壹 / 魚之樂》/ 張瀚謙
《植物輸入法》/ 劉明達

 

亞洲新力量組

大獎
《四公里》/ Shapiro MIRI / Digital Betacam / 22’ 30”

特別表揚
《小城》/ 沈可尚 / DV / 15’
《「我說啊,」我說。》/ 馬匡霈 / 35mm / 6’ 05”

 

 


Three Boys梁銘佳 / 16mm / 19’ 33”
一隊正在馬尼拉冒起的搖滾樂隊有三位成員。主音突然逝世,令他們的音樂事業走向終結,但卻使其餘的成員重新走在一起。

洗澡吧余仲怡 / DV / 19’
痲瘋病主要在發展中國家傳播是有力證的。患者會被遣送到痲瘋病村中居住,以接受隔離檢疫,等待康復。可是,即使他們在完全康復之後,這些容貌畸異者也會受到社會誣衊,而被逼留在村內。這是一個關於一群痲瘋病孩子的故事,他們生活在痲瘋病人的聚居地,備受歧視,亦不能與健康的孩子一起上學。數以百計患病的孩子只能在一間小學享受學習的樂趣。
但他們卻還未發覺,他們的校園生活即將受到巨大的衝擊。

二子的故事龍飛 / HD / 24’ 23”
二子獨自一人從大陸來香港讀書,媽媽好不容易有一天的時間來香港看他,令二子非常頭疼。媽媽來了以後,本決定帶她到處遊玩一天便送她回去,誰知媽媽無意中才發現,兒子已經被學校開除,現在連住的地方都沒有……

活在當下岑珈其 / DV / 19’ 30”
我即將十八歲。到底,我在做甚麼?每天過著像是同樣的生活看著身邊同樣的人,做著相差無幾的事。為甚麼,只有我,如此平凡?但無論怎樣,我都只能活在當下。

薔薇鄧樂滔 / DV / 3’ 19”
這段短片是學校創作週的錄像作品,內容關於自己對男同性戀者深入的體會,表達他們心裡的矛盾與衝突。

軀殼黃詩明 / DV / 3’ 19”
在學習的生涯當中,被綑綁的感覺一直縈繞我的生活。穿上校服,就如背上一種無形的壓力,難以呼吸。不過,校服留得住我的軀殼,永遠永遠留不住我的靈魂。

愛.讓你知道鄺啟東、王曉君 / DV / 21’ 09”
阿Will是一位從市區搬進鄉村生活的開朗少年,後來在村裡認識經常被鄰居、同學排斥的若晴。因為若晴一直缺乏與外界溝通,只生活於自我的世界,而阿Will的出現正正為若晴的生活帶來了無窮的色彩。後來二人的關係發展得甚好,怎料因為一次踏單車時發生了意外,改變了二人的關係,亦改變了原來美好的一切。

無題陳柏羲 / DV / 4’ 28
我不會對這部作品作任何介紹,請自行感受!希望你會喜歡它!

泥人生黃麗明 / 16’ 12”
憤怒(男)是一個被主人製造後又遭冷漠對待的泥人,他在主人的密室中渡過孤獨與無聊的日子,有一天,他遇見愛情(女),愛情亦是被主人製造後偷走出來的泥人,憤怒看見她,由憤怒、懷疑、難堪到信任、感激到愛……他們的結局,是激情,是命運?還是主人的一場遊戲?

徐振宇、陳瑋怡 / 4’ 26”
重建項目主管在茶餐廳收樓時跌入了另一個空間──被淹沒的城市。一件件已被淘汰但有著本土特色和歷史痕跡的物件呈現眼前。一場破壞後,男主角被自己的回憶感動而終於醒覺。他帶著希望種子回到現實,想要把一切都保留下來。無奈自己的力量始終改變不了正進行得如火如荼的重建計劃。

楊起超/ 5’16”
一個描述人與人、人與物之牽絆的小故事。

我阿媽係外星人楊倩玲、劉斯傑 / 5’ 44”
本土動畫 + 神奇阿媽 + 昔日情懷 + 又笑又喊……

《販賣偷來的時間》方琛宇 
透過升降機的按鍵,陌生人的時間被偷走,這些偷來的時間被拍攝成錄像在畫廊中展出。參觀者可自由選購時間,表演者將它放進光碟隨顧客帶走。被偷來的時間根據長度、片中人數、他們的年齡、外貌及反應,價格各有不同。而已售的時間片段,即時被換上 「已售 —— XX秒 XXX元 」的字樣,與還未被出售的錄像繼續放映。

解.構張智龍、林志輝 
《解.構》是一個以文本解構為實驗的互動裝置。
遊戲
1) 鍵入:參與遊戲者用鍵盤打字,這些字被投射到布上。
2)切開:參與遊戲者可以用鐳射筆把投射螢幕上的字切開。
3)自動重組:被切開的部分會四處漂浮,並組合成新字。

黑色盒子陳威宇、郭譽豪 
這是一個封閉的通訊裝置。

子非魚弍壹 / 魚之樂/張瀚謙 
從《魚之樂》故事中莊子與惠子的對話看到,我們總是將自己的看法投射在別人身上,這是我們一廂情願的想法。這次,請讓裝置中一條魚的客觀看法引領我們,看看我們如何看待他們的創作。

植物輸入法劉明達 
《植物輸入法》由三個透明器皿構成,提供了一個存取數碼訊息的渠道。正方形桌面是用作投射銀幕,一連串「木」字被投射上去,這些字串轉動有序,但十分遲鈍。

觀眾可以把「真實活著的植物」放進器皿裡,以活化這些「木」字。端視哪一個器皿裡有植物,則可演成不同的組合,這些「木」字會被喚醒,並以移動、放大縮小和旋轉這些方式來進行表演。在這個作品裡,生物是數碼世界注入生命的媒介。

四公里/ Shapiro MIRI / Digital Betacam / 22’ 30” 
在1947年南以色列的傳統貝多因沙漠,跟2007年的現代城市別是巴之間的某個地方,與高速公路只有四公里之遙,有一個細小的貝多因社區。15歲的Hulud有一個夢想,就是要砸開那條高速公路的路障。她帶著年輕的弟妹,踏上了旅程,也讓她拋開過去曾經渴望的生活。

小城沈可尚 / DV / 15’
水湳機場──亦稱「台中飛行場」,1949年國民政府來台,為安頓數以萬計的空軍及其家眷,機場周邊建造了十個眷村,成為台灣眷村密度最高的區域。2004年水湳機場正式停用,歷經了68年的航空生涯。因為改建的計劃,使得周邊的眷村宣告拆遷,上萬人離開生活了50年的家園,台中眷村的生命經驗悄然地轉變為過去的記憶。

「我說啊,」我說。馬匡霈 / 35mm / 6’ 05”
「寂寞啊,當我感覺到你存在時,便讓我不想存在這世界。」一個關於寂寞、人際關係、感情、妄想、幻覺交錯的都市寓言。


Top