Animation Lab

Sponsored by In collaboration with In association with
Sponsored by In collaboration with In association with

*Photo by: GOBELINS, l’école de l’image, Elea Gobbe-Mevellec, Moritz Mayerhofer, Luis Briceno and David Alapont

In 2011, ifva worked with the world-renowned animation school GOBELINS l’école de l’image of France, which has nurtured numerous outstanding animation artists for more than 30 years, to bring us screenings, seminars, a master class and an unprecedented chance of studying abroad in its facility. Animation Lab is your animation event of the year!

In its continual effort to bring together local animation community, ifva has arranged a series of programs that allow professional animators that worked and studied overseas to share with local fans and professionals their experiences abroad.


Animation Lab x Art Node Webcast sharing session

Hong Kong-born Albert YU Ka-ho had worked as a Senior Technical Director at Bluesky Studio in the United States, where he participated in the production of ShrekIce Age and Rio, etc. Together with director of the McDull series Toe YUEN Kin-to, who had also directed CJ7: The Cartoon, will have a dialogue with Animation Lab scholarship winners Katherine LUK E-puiand Nancy LAI Hiu-sin, these artists will share with audience about the differences between local and international animation. In having ventured overseas, these artists’ experiences will provide audience with a broader perspective on various animation production practices.

The webcasting was successfully held on 26 / 08 / 2011.

Watch online: http://artnode.hk


Community Tour

Date: Sep – Nov / 2011

Enquiry: 6227 8751

Participating schools: the Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong Institute of Vocational Education (IVE), City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong Design Institute (HKDI), Hong Kong Baptist University etc.


Screenings of the best of GOBELINS animations

GOBELINS has been nurturing the next generation of animators for the past 30 years and many of its graduates have gone on to become important figures in the international animation scene. Many technically accomplished and challenging animation works from around the globe, including works by students and graduates of GOBELINS have been showcased during the ifvaFestival in March 2011. Some of them had even been nominated for the Oscar’s Award, included such outstanding works as OktapodiFrench Roastand URS, as well as Fard, the winning short at the International Short Film Festival at Clermont-Ferrand.


Professional Seminar on Animation

Eric RIEWER from GOBELINS has been an important spokesperson in the world of animation. Mr. RIEWER inspired and entertained the audience during his lecture held in the agnès b. Cinema at the Hong Kong Arts Centre on the subject of future trends of world animation. His talk encompassed a wide range of topics from the creativity of GOBELINS students and their skills to his colorful and manifold experiences meeting animation professionals from around the globe. Many participants took the opportunity to probe Mr. RIEWER on how to gain entry into the international animation scene. For one afternoon, the agnès b. Cinema became a stage for international animation exchange.


Character Animation Master Class

GOBELINS has always challenged students to think outside the box. Rather than asking students to sit in front of the computer, Master Class instructor Robert BENNETT, a world famous mime artist, took students out onto the roof of the Hong Kong Arts School, where they struck various poses and learnt about the art of mime. This gave students insight on how to design movements and expressions for their characters. Once back in the classroom, DreamWorks animator Pierre PERIFEL lead the class in observing everyday details and conceive character identity and motivation so that students can create animated characters that are coherent and true to life.


GOBELINS Summer School — opening the gateway into the international animation scene for the local animators

Two students from the Master Class were deemed to have sufficient potential to be selected to participate in the GOBELINS Summer School. Katherine LUK, lecturer at the School of Design at the Hong Kong Polytechnic University and animation student Nancy LAI were the lucky joint-winners of a HK$80,000.00 scholarship that includes full tuition, room and board and airfare subsidies. They took off in July 2011 to France to attend a two-week animation course at the GOBELINS Summer School, where instructors included Kyle BALDA, who used to work at Pixar Studio and was behind such smash hits as Toy Story 2 and Monsters Inc. and Alexandre HEBOYAN, who worked on Kung-fu Panda. Outside of class, the two took in the Parisian scenery and had their fill of the best that French culture and art had to offer, and returned to Hong Kong with fresh inspiration for their future works!


Top

動畫工房

Sponsored by In collaboration with In association with
Sponsored by In collaboration with In association with

*Photo by: GOBELINS, l’école de l’image, Elea Gobbe-Mevellec, Moritz Mayerhofer, Luis Briceno and David Alapont

2011年,ifva與享負盛名的法國GOBELINS動畫學院攜手合作,引入了新環節「動畫工房」。該校擁有三十多年歷史並孕育了大批傑出動畫藝術家,這批系出名門的畢業生紛紛成為目前國際動畫界的中流砥柱,「動畫工房」正好帶來這些知名門生的精彩動畫作品放映、講座、大師班等精彩節目,還有遠赴GOBELINS暑期學校進修的機會,是本地動畫界的觸目盛事!

ifva已安排一系列節目,讓海外工作及遊歷的動畫師跟一眾動畫迷及業界人士分享在海外工作的得着或遊學經歷,實踐連結本地動畫社群!


Animation Lab x Art Node網上直播分享

曾在美國Bluesky Studios任高級技術指導,參與《冰河世紀》、《史力加》及《奇鸚嘉年華》等製作的香港動畫師 余家豪,以及製作多齣麥兜動畫長片及《長江7號愛地球》動畫的導演 袁建滔,跟「動畫工房」兩位獎學金得主 陸以珮 及 賴曉倩 ,大談於本地及海外的動畫創作之路,衝出國際,挑戰更廣大寬闊的動畫製作舞台之體驗。

是次網上直播已於2011年8月26日舉行,網上重溫 http://artnode.hk

 


社區巡迴講座

日期:2011年9月-11月
查詢:6227 8751

巡迴講座的院校包括:香港理工大學、香港專業教育學院 (IVE)、香港城市大學、香港知專設計學院(HKDI)及香港浸會大學等。

 


GOBELINS猛將的動畫放映會

擁有三十多年歷史的GOBELINS孕育了大批傑出的動畫藝術家,這批系出名門的畢業生紛紛成為目前國際動畫界的中流砥柱。於2011年3月第十六屆ifva短片節期間,放映技藝與實驗性兼而有之的精彩動畫作品,當中最難得一見的要算是GOBELINS學生為安錫國際動畫影展所製作的多條動畫片頭,以及榮獲奧斯卡提名的得獎熱作《Oktapodi》、《French Roast》、《URS》和克萊蒙.費朗國際短片電影節得獎短片《Fard》,認真大有來頭!


動畫業界講座

GOBELINS代表兼動畫界的重要推手Eric Riewer更親臨香港藝術中心agnès b.電影院,以鬼馬生動的方式演繹他對動畫發展趨勢的獨到見解 — 由GOBELINS學生作品的創意、技法至其豐富的國際交流經驗。一眾動畫愛好者及業界人士更熱忱地向Eric請教有關入行及晉身國際動畫界的概況,把電影院轉化為國際動畫交流的舞台。


角色動畫大師班

「動畫工房」的大師班打破傳統,要一眾學生暫時離開電腦桌走到香港藝術學院的露天平台,跟法國著名默劇演員Robert BENNETT站起來擺擺甫士,從形體默劇的訓練中,學習設計角色的動態表情。再回到電腦屏幕前,由Dream Works的動畫師Pierre PERIFEL帶領研習觀察,由日常生活細節,構想角色的身分和動機,學習打造栩栩如生又合情合理的人物角色。


法國暑期動畫課程 - 為本地動畫人打開通往國際的窗戶


大師班當中兩位別具潛質的動畫學員,即香港理工大學設計系講師陸以珮及動畫設計學生賴曉倩,兩人共獲總值約港幣八萬元的獎學金,包括全數學費、住宿及機票資助,於2011年7月上旬飛往法國GOBELINS學院參與為期兩周的進修課程,由一眾出身Pixar及Dream Works的殿堂級大師,包括曾在Pixar工作並參與《反斗奇兵2》及《怪獸公司》等大作的Kyle BALDA,以及參與製作《功夫熊猫》的Alexandre HEBOYAN等等,親自傳授動畫真功夫! 兩人還可寓學於樂,課餘時漫步巴黎的大街小巷,感受當地的文化藝術氣息,尋找創作新靈感!


Top