The 23nd ifva Awards – Media Art Category Finalist Exhibition

Starting from personal perceptions, identities and experiences, or departing from the natural or urban environment, or touching upon the topical Fin-Tech, or going back to the nature of a certain medium with a thorough understanding thereof… Familiar issues are defamiliarised by media, and artists push the boundaries of media through never-before attempts.

6/3 (Tue) – 20/3 (Tue) | 12nn – 8pm | Pao Galleries | Free Admission | Exhibition opening and Media Art Category Awards Presentation at 6:30pm on 6/3

 

Apart and/or Together
Teppei Yamada / Japan

The artist collects heartbeat from ten people, and attaches threads to the speakers to represent different rhythms. But they sound in unison in the exhibition space. The phenomenon is similar to today’s society. We try to have sympathy towards others, but also want to establish identities through our differences. We may desire, contradictorily, “apart” and “together” at the same time.


BUMPY
Kazuhiro Goshima / Japan

This is a particular style of 3D movie. I try to express the “buggy” perspective with “time lag stereoscopic” technique. The faster an object moves, the larger is the parallax. The stereoscopic effect does not stand on the actual position of the objects. Although the perspective makes you feel normal, it’s completely illusory. Enjoy the many paradoxes in your view.


hardworking circuit #1.3
Wong Chun-hoi / Hong Kong

hardworking circuit #1.3 is a realisation of a schema of monotonous, repetitive circuit, using as many units of relay switch as possible to bridge up the sequential extension of cables, merely for the purpose of electricity connection.


New Order / Siren Call?
Goh Uozumi / Japan

New Order / Siren Call? is a multi-media installation which visualises the existence of cryptocurrency – the new electronic currency based on cryptography and distributed network technology that is typified by Bitcoin and Blockchain. Rapidly changing the economic ecosystem, it will be the origin of our society’s new order. This work shows cryptocurrency’s structure, history, future and thoughts.


the ebb and flow of…
To Tsz-sum Janice / Hong Kong

This is a two-channel video work with two moving images placed opposite to each other. The videos simulate “mountains” and “waters”, in which the mountain-like scene is simulated with wave simulation tool, while the water-like scene is simulated with landscape models. It is a question of representation: are they mountains, waters, or neither of them? The scenes in seamless loop highlights the quality of transience and eternal changes in objects in time.


The Musical Instruments
Tse Chun-sing / Hong Kong

I have learnt different musical instruments but was never good at any of them. I wasted my parents’ efforts but I could never really explain to them…
After all these years, I dismantle those old instruments, and with my personal preference and mechatronics techniques, reform them into a series of sound-making devices. By using these reformed instrument
parts and music theory, my own sound is produced to perform a piece that was never heard before.


Undermine
Wong Chi-chuen / Hong Kong

The noise of the spinning propeller, which drives the rotation movement, amplifies the uneasiness, tension and fragility of the human depiction. An LED TV is disassembled, modified and backlit by a custom circular light to become semi-transparent to display a stabilised video of a woman taken from overhead. Undermine contrasts and balances a disturbing kinetic movement with the slow pace of a natural body movement.


Victoria East
Law Yuk-mui / Hong Kong

Victoria East is a multi-channel video installation. Through four perspectives: mountain, sea, coast and wind, the artwork retraces the urban development of Tseung Kwan O under British colonial rule and urban planning policy in a century’s time.


Wave Series
teamVOID (Bae Jae-hyuck, Song Jun-bong) / South Korea

Wave Series is a set of three lumino-kinetic works that create wave-like optical illusions from patterned movement formed by the combination of LED and a motor. The audience can experience different perceptions of space from rotating and dimming pixels’ relationships. There are three different types of wave and each shares the same algorithm and structure but results in different visuals.


Recommended Programme
CINEMA 2.0: Media Arts Exhibition: Dark Mirrors
Back to All Programmes

Top

第二十三屆 ifva 比賽媒體藝術組入圍作品展

不同的作品,有的由個人的感受、身份、生活、經歷出發,也有從周遭的山水、城市環境入手,甚至觸及炙手可熱的金融科技。熟悉的題材以不一樣的媒體呈現,參賽藝術家更能透達媒體的特質,把它們的潛能推向極致。

6/3 (Tue) – 20/3 (Tue) | 12nn – 8pm | 包氏畫廊 | 免費入場 | 媒體藝術組獎項將於 6/3 6:30pm 展覽開幕禮上公佈及頒發

 

分和(或)合
山田哲平 / 日本

藝術家蒐集了十人的心跳,揚聲器連上彩色絲線,代表着不同的韻律;身處展覽空間,卻只聽到一種聲音。這種現象有若今日的社會文化,我們既希望對他人有同理心,同時又想透過差異確立身份,這是一種同時渴望着「分」和「合」的矛盾。


BUMPY
五島一浩 / 日本

這是一齣別具風格的3D 短片。影像以一台普通的相機拍攝,加入些微的縮時技術,橫向動態被抽走並立體化,是為「縮時立體化」技術。這次的作品拍攝各種日常的場景,把本來不存在於原場景的立體感呈現出來。希望觀者可親嘗空間感被打亂及改變的奇妙之處。


勤力電路#1.3
王鎮海 / 香港

《勤力電路 #1.3》實現了一個單調、重複的電路系統,以大量繼電器連接,順序延長成極長的電線,只不過就是為了通電。


New Order / Siren Call?
魚住剛 / 日本

《New Order / Siren Call?》透過多媒體裝置,視覺化地展示加密貨幣的存在——那是一種建基於密碼學及分散網絡科技的電子貨幣,為人熟知的有比特幣、區塊鏈等。加密貨幣為經濟生態帶來重大轉變,甚至將會成為社會新秩序之源。作品展示了加密貨幣的結構、歷史、未來及反思。


觀潮
陶芷琛 / 香港

這個雙頻道錄像作品由兩個流動影像組成,分別模擬「山」和「水」:山的景色以模仿海浪的工具造成,水的景色則由地貌模型來仿擬。這是一個再現的問題:它們是山?是水?抑或兩者皆非?不斷重播的景象,突顯了事物在時間長河中稍縱即逝、不斷改變的本質。


樂器
謝俊昇 / 香港

自小學過各種樂器,卻沒一種學好。浪費了父母的栽培,但我總是不能好好向父母解釋⋯⋯
多年後,我拆解那些舊樂器,根據自己的興趣喜好,配合機械電子技術重組成一系列發聲裝置。利用重組的樂器部件和樂理知識,發出屬於自己的聲音,嘗試奏一首從未出現過的樂曲。


傾覆
黃智銓 / 香港

螺旋槳推動着裝置旋動,發出的噪音加劇了顯示屏上女子的不安、緊張與脆弱。LED 電視經過拆卸和改裝後,後方的圓形燈箱投影令它變得半透明。影像展示從俯瞰角度觀看着一名女子,看來相對靜止。《傾覆》以煩擾的機械運動,與自然而緩慢的身體動作形成對比與平衡。


維多利亞之東
羅玉梅 / 香港

《維多利亞之東》是一組錄像裝置藝術,從百年的將軍澳城市發展脈絡裡,以四個切入點——山、水、海岸和風去重塑鈎沉於殖民統治和城市政策底下的歷史軌跡。


Wave Series
teamVOID (裵在赫, 宋俊奉) / 南韓

《Wave Series》是一系列三組光學動態的作品,LED 燈與摩打有規律的運動,造出有如海浪般的錯覺。透過光點的旋動與明滅,觀眾對空間可以產生不同的感受。這個系列有三種不同的海浪,用同樣的方法造出三種不同的視覺效果。


推介節目
CINEMA 2.0 媒體藝術展覽:幽鏡
返回所有節目

Top