The 23rd ifva Awards – Animation Category Finalist Showcase

For the first time the Animation Category of the ifva Awards accepts entries from all over Asia, resulting in an unprecedented diversity: from imaginative fictions to real-life stories about family and society, from abstract to concrete, from ancient setting to modern context… All different contents and forms offer an animated world that blends the real and the imagined.

Finalist Showcase: 17/3 (Sat) | 2pm | Hong Kong Arts Centre Cinema | DCP | 69’ | HK$ 65/35* | With after-screening discussion

* This programme is classified as Category III, refunds will be made to ticket holders under 18 years old from the day of announcement till 31 March 2018 at the box office of the Hong Kong Arts Centre.

Ticketing information

Passing Rain
Yeung Hey-chiu
Hong Kong / Col / 6′ 05” / No dialogue and subtitles

After a small turn of fate, a girl studying in the covered playground started to pay attention to a boy. After a sudden shower of rain, they started to get closer.


Neon
Pan Sz-yu
Taiwan / Col / 6′ 07″ / No dialogue and subtitles

Neon is a colorless, tasteless and odorless gas, but when injected into glass tubes and connected to an electric current, it lights up into a reddish-orange neon light. When it was first discovered, scientists found the gas novel and dazzling, so they named it “neon”, which means “new”. We use neon as a concept to convey romantic love.


The Giant with a House
Chan Sin-hong
Hong Kong / Col / 10′ 10” / No dialogue with Chinese and English subtitles

This is a story about a giant carrying a big house and travelling with a little girl. In this world of fantasy, what is true may be false, and what is false may be true. The simple fairy tale is everything but simple.


Losing Sight of a Longed Place
Wong Tsz-ying, Shek Ka-chun, Wong Chun-long
Hong Kong / Col / 7′ 45″ / In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

This film depicts a young homosexual who fights for his rights and that of people around him, but the barrier between himself and his father and the lack of progress in society put him in a state of confusion and self-reflection.


Flotsam
Wu Chung-yi
Taiwan / Col / 4′ 33″ / In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles

This is a story about a young man, an island, a message, a past experience and a sea.


Cross Blade Kill
Mak Siu-fung
Hong Kong / Col / 6′ 00″ / In English with English subtitles

He kills not for money, but that he enjoys killing, or perhaps he is trying to get justice for his master. This time, his job is to kill a plot maker. The reason is not important; what’s important is that he wants to tell the plot maker, “The bullet you fired will eventually come back to hit you on the head.”


Wind Fire Lam Chung
Mok Yiu-wa Buck
Hong Kong / Col / 6′ 58” / In Cantonese with Chinese and English subtitles

This work is taken from the “Wild Boar Forest” chapter in the old Chinese novel The Water Margin. The Emperor neglected his duties and society was in decadence. Lam Chung is falsely accused by a local thug and his good friend, and has nowhere to turn. If you were Lam, an ordinary bureaucrat who goes through trials by wind, fire and snow, will your fate be any different?


Muteum
Lee Pak-yee Aggie
Hong Kong / Col / 4′ 09″/ No dialogue and subtitles

In a museum, we should behave well, from outer to inner, from shallow to its deepest, seriously and sincerely.


Watching
Huang Yuanyuan
China / Col / 4′ 01″ / No dialogue and subtitles

We usually forget reincarnation is merely illusions, similar to those we see on television. We sometimes get lost in the dramatic big waves and drift along the water flow. When we have had enough, and are determined to practise a clear mind, we will realise that those affecting us are simply tricks. All looping arguments, comfort and pain are just a scenery.


Stories About Him
Yang Yung-shiuan
Taiwan / Col / 12′ 46″ / In Mandarin and Taiwanese with English subtitles

One day I asked my aunts and uncles about my grandpa while they were playing mahjong. What does he look like? Where did he come from? How was his childhood? What had he been through? The stories they told me are too difficult to imagine. Are those all real? Who is he?


Recommended Programme
So Far, So Close: Master Class
by Animator Liu Jian
Media Art Category Finalist Exhibition
Back to All Programmes

Top

第二十三屆 ifva 比賽動畫組入圍作品放映

今年ifva 比賽動畫組首度加入亞洲區作品參賽,更加百花齊放。由天馬行空的幻想世界,到現實生活中的家庭與社會;由抽象的表達到具體的情節;由傳統小說故事,到現代愛情童話⋯⋯透過各種內容與形式,將現實與虛幻共冶一爐。

入圍作品放映:17/3 (Sat) | 2pm | 香港藝術中心電影院 | DCP | 69’ | HK$ 65/35* | 放映後設討論會

*本片已被電影、報刊及物品管理辦事處評定為第三級,未滿18歲之購票人士可由即日起至2018年3月31日前親臨香港藝術中心之售票處辦理退票手續。

購票詳情
過雲雨
楊起超
香港 / 彩色 / 6′ 05” / 無對白及字幕

女主角在雨天操場中溫習,因為一個意外而開始留意男主角。藉着一場過雲雨,男女主角的距離逐漸拉近。


霓虹
盤思妤
臺灣 / 彩色 / 6′ 07″ / 無對白及字幕

氖,這種氣體,無色、無味、無嗅,但放入玻璃管通電後卻會發出橘紅色的霓虹光。科學家發現時覺得非常新奇和炫目,於是取名為「neon」也就是「新」的意思。我們以霓虹的概念來揭示愛情。


有屋的巨人
陳善匡
香港 / 彩色 / 10′ 10” / 無對白,中英文字幕

這是一個揹着大屋的巨人與小女孩旅行的故事。在這個奇幻世界裡,真亦假時假亦真。單純的童話亦變得奢侈。


暗房夜空
黃梓瑩、石家俊、黃俊朗
香港 / 彩色 / 7′ 45″ / 粵語對白,中英文字幕

本片紀錄一位香港年輕同志一直爭取自己與身邊人的權益。可是父親與他積存已久的隔閡、社會停滯不前,使他陷入困惑與反思。


漂流日記
吳中義
臺灣 / 彩色 / 4′ 33″ / 國語對白,中英文字幕

這是關於一位少年、一座島、一道信息、一段經歷與一片海的故事。


殺他死
麥少峰
香港 / 彩色 / 6′ 00″ / 英語對白,英文字幕

他殺人非為酬勞,或許純綷喜歡,或為主子討回公道,而這次他要殺一個佈局者,理由不重要,重要的是,他想要告訴這個佈局者:「你所發出的子彈最終會回到你的頭上。」


風.火.說林沖
莫耀華
香港 / 彩色 / 6′ 58” / 粵語對白,中英文字幕

本片取材自《水滸傳》「野豬林」一章。故事發生於宋徽宗年間,皇帝無心朝政,社會是非不分,忠良林沖被地方豪強惡霸及好友陸謙陷害,最後無路可逃⋯⋯如果你是林沖——一位平凡官僚,經歴風、火、雪的洗禮,你的結果會有何不同?


博默館
李柏誼
香港 / 彩色 / 4′ 09″/ 無對白及字幕

在博物館裡,我們應當好好學習,由外到內,由淺入深,認認真真,沉默是金。



黃園原
中國 / 彩色 / 4′ 01″ / 無對白及字幕

我們經常忘了輪迴只是如同電視中逼真的幻象,入戲太深,會被巨浪捲走、隨水面漂流。當我們受夠了,再去練習變得清醒,就會看清那反覆影響着我們的一團團亂麻,只是戲法。那些迴圈發生着的爭吵與安慰、痛苦與散亂⋯⋯都只是風景 。


關於他的故事
楊詠亘
臺灣 / 彩色 / 12′ 46″ / 國語及台語對白,英文字幕

那天我在阿姨們打麻將時向她們問起阿公。阿姨舅舅們口中的阿公,高大嚴肅,又是金毛又有碧眼,挖過金礦、做過學徒、當過金師、打過山賊,學生意也打過雜,從一個流浪孤兒變成迪化街的布行大老闆。阿公的故事怎麼聽都覺得遙遠又神奇。


推介節目
似遠若近:動畫師劉健大師班 媒體藝術組入圍作品展
返回所有節目

Top