The 21st ifva Awards – Media Art Category Finalist Exhibition

Ten pieces of media art work take you through a journey with which organisms in various forms are all connected. From sound science to the transformation of light, from bones to dialect, from the visible to the invisible, organisms existing in different forms are meant to be bonded with each other.


25/2 – 12/3 | 12nn – 8pm | Pao Galleries | Free Admission
Discussion session and exhibition opening on 25/2 4:30pm and 6:30pm respectively
Black Moves
Chan Ho-choi Carla / Hong Kong

Black Moves is an immersive video loop with surround sound that stages the spatial drama of a changing virtual landscape. It simulates the forming and de-forming of an amorphous black mass, creating an evocative sensorial journey that crosses between the boundaries of the physical and the psychological as experienced inside an alien dark cave.


The Elusive
Siu Wai-hang / Hong Kong

I believe we can understand humanity fromlandscape, even though the truth is always partially hidden and blocked. We must bypass these obstacles to see the truth (or desire). I created a mechanical device to catch and reconstruct the identity bit by bit, something I have long been searching for but always find elusive.


iFerrum
Ho Ying-tung / Hong Kong

iFerrum is a chemical art showing a real-time generative video using new constraints – the ferrofluid and the magnetic field. The concept originates from cybernetics. The system appreciates the gorgeous transformation processes of Ferrofluid under different circumstances, and how they generate arts.


Light Barrier (Second Edition)
Elliot John Woods, Mimi Son / United Kingdom, South Korea

The visual story follows the journey of a digital form. It begins by passing through the Light Barrier, so that this digital form transcends the limits of its home reality and enters into our physical one. It then explores the possibilities of its newly found physicality, whilst attempting to assert its digital identity. Finally the form travels through the Light Barrier again to pass away to the next reality.


Ming Jing
Chan Kiu-hong / Hong Kong

Wherever you go, problems always follow, even to different parts of the world. One end of Ming Jing is a set of over nine hundred bowls, each with a magnetic bead inside. The other end is connected to an infrared detector at the entrance of a Beijing gallery. When triggered by passers-by, signals are transmitted to the local end with four amplifiers to vibrate the magnetic beads, creating a ripple-like effect.


MinkeyFamily.com
Minkey Chen, Chyu Lwo / China

MinkeyFamily.com is a common household set up in the virtual network and it has reconstructed a similar space to history by extracting the family memory. By collecting the shared memory of one particular family from 1946 to 2005, MinkeyFamily.com represents the appearance of the society through the individuals’ eyes, which symbolises the lives of ordinary families at that time.


Rekion-crepitation-
Katsuki Nogami / Japan

Rekion (crepitation) in Japanese refers to the intraarticular crackling sound among joints of body parts such as neck and fingers. As for the output, the sound is audible through parametric speaker (supersonic wave speaker) with super directivity. The speaker is attached to the robot that synchronises with the movement of the face of the performer. Audience can listen to the sound of the joints directly with their bare ears.


SEMI-SENSELESS DRAWING MODULES Trilogy
Kanno So, Takahiro Yamaguchi / Japan

This work consists of a series of original drawing machines and a system that integrate factors like observers and environment with movements of the drawing modules. The purpose of such robotic system is to, paradoxically, explore the meaning of “human creativity”, which we hypothesise to consist of imitation, learning and contingencies. Therefore this work takes the form of a trilogy.


Spring up II – Coexistence
Chen Yun-ju / Taiwan

Spring up II – Coexistence is a sound-sensitive installation consisting of motor-mechanisms that seem to contain small life-like organisms. These organisms are sensitive, and have the ability to hear and see just like humans and animals. Taking sound as a trigger to motivate the installation brings endless conversation between observers and their current environment.


voice from the root, reclaiming
Yip Kai-chun / Hong Kong

In the past two years, I had asked my father to teach me his mother tongue Hakka with a recorder in an impromptu way. Together with recordings of conversations with his relatives and friends, I jotted down notes in codes of Cantonese, Mandarin, English and self-invented symbols. The recordings are transposed to a TV set and two speakers. Audience can listen to the dialogues between me and my father and learn Hakka together.



Top

第二十一屆 ifva 比賽媒體藝術組入圍作品展

十組媒體藝術作品,由聲音科學到光影變奏,由骨頭到鄉下話,從有形到無形,形態各異,卻互相掀動,展開一趟連繫着不同生命體的旅程。


25/2 – 12/3 | 12nn – 8pm | 包氏畫廊 | 免費入場
討論會及展覽開幕將分別於25/2 4:30pm 及6:30pm 進行
黑動
陳好彩 / 香港

《黑動》是一次彷如置身其境的錄像旅程,並配以環迴立體聲效而創造出的虛擬景觀和空間戲劇。一團無以形狀的黑色物質時而凝聚時而分散,於漆黑的洞穴中展開一場跨越肉體與精神的感官體驗。


捉不到的
蕭偉恒 / 香港

我相信地景能夠蘊藏人類的一切,可是圍欄內外總是夾雜著障礙,必須繞過這些障礙好讓我看清想看的。利用機械裝置試著去一點一滴捕捉及重構這個身份,是我一直想窺探卻又捉不到的。


磁流
何映彤 / 香港

《磁流》是一場化學藝術,利用鐵磁流體(ferrofluid)及磁場即時產生錄像,概念源自人工腦學(cybernetics)。鐵磁流體在不同情況下,有着絢麗的轉化過程,藝術於焉誕生。


Light Barrier(Second Edition)
Elliot John Woods、Mimi Son / 英國、南韓

這個視覺故事由一個數碼形態開始。它穿過《Light Barrier》,衝破本來的虛無而進入我們的真實。它在全新的實體中嘗試發掘各種可能性,與此同時卻又希望堅持其數碼身份。終於,它再次穿過《Light Barrier》去找尋下一個真實。


明鏡
陳翹康 / 香港

麻煩總是隨身,甚至無分國界。《明鏡》的一端連接由超過九百個碗的裝置,每個碗內均有一顆磁珠,另一端連結設於北京某畫廊門口的紅外線感應器。當有人經過,訊號透過四個放大器,以磁場震動碗內的磁珠,製造出如同湖面漣漪的效果。


MinkeyFamily.com
陳珉祺丶羅劬 / 中國

《MinkeyFamily.com》是虛擬網絡世界裡的一戶尋常人家,透過家庭的記憶提煉重塑了一個與過去世界相似的空間。藝術家收集了一個家庭由1946 至2005 年的回憶片段,從個體眼中見到的社會面貌,並代表着一個普通家庭在這段歷史的狀態。


レキオン- 礫音-
野上勝己 / 日本

日文「礫音」代表身體部位如頸項及手指關節間磨擦而成的劈啪聲響。這些聲響以具超級指向性的參數喇叭輸出。喇叭連接至一台與表演者的臉部動作同步的機械人,觀眾可直接聽到各種關節合成出來的奇特聲響。


SEMI-SENSELESS DRAWING MODULES Trilogy
菅野創、山口祟洋 / 日本

作品包括一系列原創的繪圖機器,系統並會結合參觀者與環境等因素,移動繪圖組件。這組電子與機械系統弔詭地嘗試探索「人類創意」為何物,我們假設人類的創意其實源自模仿、學習與偶發性事件。作品因而以三部曲的形式呈現。


聲機勃勃II – 共生
陳韻如 / 臺灣

《聲機勃勃II – 共生》是一個由機械零件組成的聲音裝置,住着如同有生命的微生物。這些微生物非常敏感,擁有類似人類及動物的聽覺及視覺。裝置由聲音去推動,帶來觀者與環境之間連綿不休的對話。


崖hea響槓言
葉啟俊 / 香港

過去兩年多,我着家父教我說他的「鄉下話」──客家話,並用錄音機將之記錄。連同他跟其他親戚朋友的對話錄音,我以廣東話、普通話拼音、英文及自創的符號把發音記下。錄音化為一組由電視機、揚聲器及椅子組合而成的裝置。觀眾可聽着我與家父的對話,一同學習客家話。



Top